Brooklyn – My Review

Posted: March 31, 2016 in -, Joe Giambrone
Tags: ,

J. Giambrone

banner-brooklyn-Brooklyn_Film_844x476.jpg

Me dear mother highly recommended this film, as it reflects her own experiences coming to America. This romantic drama is a sure hit with the ladies. Four young girls who sat behind me were in love with heartthrob/Italian plumber Tony. Score one for Italy.

MI-saoirse-ronan-Coney-Island.jpg

Of course I love Saoirse Ronan, and she’s delivered a multi-layered, nuanced performance. It’s a great time for female-powered period pieces with CarolSuffragette, andThe Witch now out as well.

lead_960.jpg

I’d mention half a dozen similarities of Brooklyn’s Ellis Lacey to my own ma’s plight, but the main one relevant to myself is her marrying a working-class Italiano from New York City, Brooklyn I believe. Fill in the blanks from there, and enjoy Brooklyn, a slow-paced, very common story of immigration, assimilation, and homesickness.


Gilding the Allegory (Free)
Free -e-Book

My Posts | Reblogs|  Films  Transfixion
Hell of a…

View original post 6 more words

Your Comment

