Queen of Earth – My Review

Posted: March 31, 2016 in -, Joe Giambrone
Tags: ,

J. Giambrone

19786602348_6b361c50df_o.jpg

One and a half good scenes.

In the behind-the-scenes video it began to dawn on me why this film didn’t click. It didn’t seem to have a plot. I always want to see psychological stories, tales of extremes. I sometimes write them myself. But, I think the main shortcoming of Queen of Earth was that they didn’t take it seriously enough.

I would have to contrast another film I just reviewed, Victoria, a product of exact German engineering standards. Victoria, in one shot, is choreographed, meticulous, precise and above-all: deliberate.

5o2kkodw1lbSS1.png

The lackadaisical American crew behind Queen of Earth was diametrically opposite. Nothing was precise, intentional, purposed to use visual language, except for a couple of instances. The director didn’t seem to have arrived on set with clue; he hadn’t prepared, and didn’t even seem to know how to. Overall this movie lacked a strong foundation, and it came…

View original post 115 more words

Your Comment

