Knight of Cups – My_Review

Posted: July 8, 2016 in -, Joe Giambrone
Tags: ,

J. Giambrone

knight-of-cups-uk-quad-poster-900x0-c-default (1).jpg

Well let’s see here. Should I make a facile attempt to appear fair and just? This is a poem/movie, a Malick auteur project. Seat belts on.

My first description of Knight of Cups was to be: Post-Modern Vomitorium.

Have I been dropped in Grumpyville, or was it truly the movie’s shortcomings?

That Stanley Kubrick quote continued to haunt me as I sat wondering, for two-thirds of this film, if Kubrick might have actually liked it. Here’s the quote:

“A film is – or should be – more like music than like fiction. It should be a progression of moods and feelings. The theme, what’s behind the emotion, the meaning, all that comes later.”
-Stanley Kubrick

I’m guessing he’d have half liked it but in the end found it repetitive and pointless, as I did.

In retrospect, Knight of Cups wasn’t even good music. The heavily stylized camera caught my…

View original post 258 more words

Your Comment

